Pokéwalk Log, Day 14 Part 1.

I woke from a refreshing sleep after taking some time off to catalogue my Pokémon and getting them ready to be shipped back to the mainland. I had put it off for far too long and the entire process took quite a while. I fear I have neglected my journal all the while. The smell of baking johnny cakes brought a smile to my face because my native guide Tim had returned. I stepped outside my little shack and there Tim sat next to the fire preparing breakfast for the two of us like he had never left.

I greeted him with a hearty hand shake and noticed that he had brand new tattoos adorning his chest. He told me every time he saved a life he put their name on his skin so that when he went to the great spirit they could see all the lives he had tended to. I suppose that’s a good enough reason to get ink stabbed into your flesh as any I suppose.

Over breakfast I told Tim of the adventures I had gotten into. He was especially interested when I told him of my trip to the Orange Bazaar and how I managed to overcome the Abra’s tricks. He got a strange look on his face and stared off into the distance before telling me that he had a special place he wanted take me. Since I had nothing else planned for the day, other than breakfast of course, I agreed.

After breakfast we set off in my vehicle and drove into the east, always to the east. We drove for several days passing through ruins of ancient antiquity and dusty veldts filled with tall grass that the wild Pokémon rustled through. The tall swaying grass gave way to thick overgrown jungle, so thick we had to leave the vehicle behind and continue on foot.

We hacked our way through thick foliage blazing a trail that was soon swallowed up by the trees and the vines. I was dripping with sweat in a most unseemly fashion and I was ready to call a halt to this expedition when Tim stopped in front of me and turned to face me. He told me a tale that was passed down from generation to generation that who so ever should walk the cursed streets of the Orange Bazaar would be blessed by the Poké-spirits. I had no idea what he was talking about but apparently this was a holy place and only I could enter it.

Tim covered his eyes with his hands and bowed his head in prayer stepping aside to reveal a small glade that held a massive cave mouth. Since I had already walked past the view of Tim and he was deep into some ritual prayer I decided to take a small break just inside the mouth of the of the cave to regain my strength for the ordeal that would follow.

entrance-to-the-crystal-cave

I made no jest at the size of this cave opening

Leave a Reply

