Pokéwalk Log, Day 10

We spent the night out in the field in the remnants of a ruined building. The roof had long since rotted away into the mists of time but the remaining walls made for an effective wind break. Without the lights or smog from a big city the night sky was filled with such splendor as to take my very breath away.I fell asleep to burning heavens filled with cosmic radiance and my dreams were equally filled with wild abandon. I dreamed I was being chased by the Gastly I had encountered back at the ruined marina. It kept tossing black Pokéballs made of its own smoky essence at me trying to catch me. I woke before a single ball could trap me but I shudder to think what I may have seen if one had.

The morning came bright and hot filled with the sounds of bird Pokémon singing to the rising sun. Tim and I made a quick breakfast of Rattata jerky and travel bread before getting back on the road. I have to say I was starting to get a taste for Poké flesh that I hope I could lose once I returned home.

We drove back on a different route from whence we came Tim saying that he knew of place that I might find interesting. It was more than enough to pique my curiosity and I could barely contain myself as we drove the day away through jungle and veldt.

We wound our way down a dry riverbed that was curiously filled with large flat stones lining its dry bottom. It wasn’t long until I realized that the dry riverbed was in fact an ancient road. An ancient road that lead to an even more ancient town.

The buildings were in remarkable repair possibly due to how dry it was in this area, in fact it was curiously dry. The mysterious source of the arid climate was soon revealed to be an enormous population of Sandshrew populating the area. Their natural desiccative abilities had dried the area out preserving the surrounding buildings. Naturally I caught a few for further study before carrying on deeper into the city following the sound of running water.The source of the liquid turned out to be a magnificent golden fountain in a small open area. qC9_4570392_large

Water still flowed from its spouts and it was ringed by three golden female figures. Who were these women? Were they Goddesses or Queens? And what was the purpose of this area? Perhaps it was a market place? A town square? Or maybe it was simply a park for the ancients to enjoy. I marked the area in my Pokédex map so that I could forward it to Valor archaeologists. It was a truly remarkable sight that I would cherish for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

